Words and power


The other day I commented on a neo-pagan social site, referring to the beautiful graphics which people have adorned their pages with, that all I have are my words when reaching out to others. That got me started thinking: what happens when words fail to convey the meaning? How do I know that, when my book is published, that it will be read and intrepreted as I intended.

Obviously, as an author, that is a very important question to me. So I also twitted the question about words failing, which automatically posts it to FB (isn’t technology wonderful? More on that in a future post.)

Immediately after posting, the first thing that came to my mind was an old song by Missing Persons: “What are words for, when no one listens anymore?”

And what was the first response on FB? “The universe is always listening.” Talk about a self-proving statement! Some would call it coincidence, but I find the synchronicity of that very comforting. With all the effort, monetary and mental, that has gone into my first book, not to mention the money that has yet to be spent to get it out in the marketplace, it is good to know that it will be received and considered by someone even if it’s only the Universe in general.

But that also brings me to the second response which came from a very dear friend: “You have much more than your words when reaching out to others…you have the gift of will and intention to follow your words.”

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa on March 25, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

